Favorite Music from 2012

Let’s do something fun today and not be so self-focused and introspective. (That becomes tiring after a while…)

Music. I enjoy music. I even play it from time to time. And my taste in music is diverse and…incredibly picky. Even hipster-ish. And for me, music and memories tend to go together. Certain songs and albums can remind me of certain times and memories, some good and some not-so-good. That’s why I can’t listen to Switchfoot’s Learing To Breathe. Yes, I am strange.

Anyways, here’s my five favorite albums released in 2012…and one added on for good measure.

1.) Will Reagan and United Pursuit – Endless Years
-This one was a no-brainer, despite being released at the beginning of December. Will and his UPB friends have KILLED IT with this one. I don’t know of any other album where every song has hit my heart and caused me to tear up within the first 24 hours of listening to it. It’s that good.

2.) Jonathan David and Melissa Helser – On The Shores
-These guys have been huge in my worship times and when I finally listened to their latest, oh man. I still choose this album when it’s time for worship and reflection.

3.) Mumford and Sons – Babel
-They had me hooked from the first chorus:
“Cause I’ll know my weakness, know my voice
And I’ll believe in grace and choice
And I know perhaps my heart is fast
But I’ll be born without a mask”

And there’s much more goodness on their Deluxe Album. “Where Are You Now?” is some solid evidence of that. I could go on and on…but let’s move on.

4.) The Avett Brothers – The Carpenter
-I wanted to put this higher on the list, but between the first three albums and the fact that this album hit so many deep and personal areas of my life, it hurt to listen to it sometimes (if that makes sense…) Even when they released “Live and Die” as a single, it hit me deep. The hardest song to listen to is “Through My Prayers”:
“Feels like no one understands
And now my only chance
To talk to you is through my prayers
I only wanted to tell you I care”

5.) The Lumineers – The Lumineers
-This album quickly moved from being an inside joke to my summer jam. And I’m talking about the whole album being my summer jam. It was perfect for the summer days when the top and doors were off the jeep and it went alongside albums from The Avett Brothers and Mumford and Sons perfectly. And everytime I hear “Classy Girls”, memories and inside jokes come flying back.

Added on for good measure: Paper Route – The Peace Of Wild Things
-I wanted to put this on at #5 due to the fun memories that come up when “You and I” plays, but the painful memories that this one tugs at is too much to recover from.

And…album that will be released in 2013 that I already have: Charlie Hall – The Death Of Death
-I will admit that I’ve never been a huge fan of Charlie Hall. I’ve liked a few of his songs, but that was about it. Then I decided to back his Kickstarter project a few weeks ago…and ended up with his new album two weeks before it was released. Ummm…WOW. This might be my favorite album for 2013. And that’s saying a lot.

So there you go.

Leave a Reply

