a few hours out on the trail…

Despite what some might think, I do tend to get out of my house, my office (and even my head) sometimes and wander around the woods. I haven’t done much of that in the past 15 months and it shows; not only physically but emotionally and even relationally. But this shall not only be the start of a new season, but a new adventure.  

Hiking. Camping. Seeing all that God created and placed around me. Getting back outside and to one of my first loves…outdoor adventures.

 

Okay. Enough with the intro. Let’s get on with Thursday’s adventure. 

 

I took the day off and made plans to go for a hike up at Max Patch with a close friend. (It was her challenge to me that woke me up a few months ago. She has no clue.) 

Image

 It was so gorgeous. Being on top of a bald with amazing views all around was the best thing for my tired soul.

 

Apparently I’m very out of shape. We had to stop several times so I could catch my breath. Guess I need to say goodbye to the cigars and work on my cardiovascular and stamina… 

 

Image

 

But…

Conversation flowed. 

Hammocks were pitched. 

Acorn tops were collected. 

 

It was what I needed, despite the cool conditions and crazy wind on top of the mountains. 

 

I wanted to sleep in Friday morning and hit another trail, but things like work and thunderstorms convinced me otherwise. 

 

I can’t wait to get back out there and see what else that God created is awaiting to be discovered. It’s good for my soul. 

Leave a Reply

